Book Review: Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton

Tiny Pretty Things by Sona Charaipotra and Dhonielle Clayton

Published May 26th 2015 by HarperTeen

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Goodreads Summary:
Gigi, Bette, and June, three top students at an exclusive Manhattan ballet school, have seen their fair share of drama. Free-spirited new girl Gigi just wants to dance—but the very act might kill her. Privileged New Yorker Bette’s desire to escape the shadow of her ballet star sister brings out a dangerous edge in her. And perfectionist June needs to land a lead role this year or her controlling mother will put an end to her dancing dreams forever. When every dancer is both friend and foe, the girls will sacrifice, manipulate, and backstab to be the best of the best.

My Rating:🌟🌟🌟

 

My review:

First of all I am a sucker for these kinds of contemporary stories. Drama, betrayal, and over all bitchiness. I am so down for that. The next thing I need to tell you is that I almost always root for the bitchiest, meanest character. And this book did not really disappoint. It’s Mean Girls meets Black Swan with a hint of Pretty Little Liars.

So the story is told in three alternate POVs: we have June, the half Korean who always ends up as the understudy; Gigi, the new girl who immediately starts to shine which causes her to be a target of pranks; and we have Bette, the school’s prima ballerina who doesn’t appreciate sharing the attention. But aside from all the backstabbing and boyfriend stealing and clawing their way to the top, the book also tackles other issues such as eating disorders, drug usage, and sexuality

The three main characters are really diverse, which I loved. They also have their own issues to deal with. Other characters are interesting as well. There’s Will, who know’s Bette’s secret. Henri, the mysterious French and Alec, Bette’s boyfriend who seems to have an eye for someone else.

What I didn’t like however, is how rushed the romance was. It also was too shallow for me, even for a young adult book. It also did get a bit dragging at some parts and I found myself skimming some pages instead of reading them fully. Some characters also seemed unnecessary? Although they might play bigger roles in the next books so we’ll see where that goes.

I didn’t really love the book overall, but I did enjoy it enough to be looking forward to the sequel.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Great review! I actually just picked this book up from the library yesterday, and plan to read it this weekend. I’m obsessed with ballet, so it was the first thing that drew me to this book. I really liked your honesty in this review. I’m curious to see what I thought of it, compared to how you felt about this book. 🙂

    Also, thank you so much for following my blog! I really appreciate it!!

    Like

    1. literaryhues says:

      Thank you! I’d love to hear your thoughts about it too. 😊 I already have the second book. Will read it soon 💕

      Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Thank you! 💕

      Like

Leave a Reply

