A Writer’s Refusal

A quick thing I wrote last year, when I was in denial about certain things.

A Writer’s Refusal

I don’t want to write about you
To immortalize you through words
I’m not gonna write about your lips
Always curved into a smile for me
I’m not gonna write about your green eyes
Staring at me like I’m actually beautiful
I’m not gonna write about how you say my name
Rolling smoothly off your tongue like you were meant to say it

I don’t want to write about you
The way you slowly melt me
Thawing my hardened heart
Not only seeing past the flaws, the imperfections
But loving me for it.

I don’t want to write about you
Because if I do
I would be admitting
That these feelings were real
I’ve never felt this way
And it scares me to death.

No. I don’t want to.
I refuse to write about you.

Leave a Reply

