Book Review: F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher

I was gifted a kindle copy of this by the lovely Christine Brae, and this is my 6th Tarryn Fisher novel.

F*ck Love by Tarryn Fisher
Published December 31, 2015
Genre: 
New Adult Contemporary Romance

Goodreads Summary:
Helena Conway has fallen in love.
Unwillingly. Unwittingly.
But not unprovoked.
Kit Isley is everything she’s not—unstructured, untethered,
and not even a little bit careful.
It could all be so beautiful … if he wasn’t dating her best friend.
Helena must defy her heart, do the right thing, and think of others.
Until she doesn’t.

My Rating:🌟🌟🌟

My Review:
First of all, let me start of by saying that the cover is absolutely gorgeous! I love the bold, red colours, and the font fits the title so well.

With that said, I had pretty high expectations for this. Having read already six Tarryn Fisher books, I knew I was in for an emotional ride. I was so hooked in her Love Me With Lies series. I hated all of the characters, but I understood them.

Helena’s best friend Della reminds me a lot of Leah from the Love Me With Lies series. But unlike Leah, I didn’t love her character that much. Della is the type of girl who befriends others who she deems less attractive than her so she’ll always shine as the prettiest one among them. Her friendship with Helena must have been genuine at one point, but became strained and fake when they grew up.

Helena is a numbers girl. But since her dream, she decided to explore her creative abilities. At some point I found myself being able to relate to Helena, in trying to figure out what she really wants to do with her life.

Kit though? Uhhh. I don’t know. He isn’t really swoon worthy. I didn’t see much development on his part either.

For me the plot was was so-so. Sure, it was captivating at first, even confusing. But as the plot progressed, I saw myself slowly losing interest. I lacked the claws and the chemistry that was in her Love Me With Lies series. I needed more justification, I needed to understand them more.

What I really did like though, were the quotes. Well, those and the really cool Harry Potter references.

“Art is the blood that comes from a wound. You can’t let it scab; let it keep bleeding. Let it bleed until you have enough blood to paint with.”



“Contrast is important in life. We understand what light is because we can compare it with what we know is dark. Sweet is made sweeter after we eat something bitter. It’s the very same with sadness. And it’s important to experience sadness, to embrace it in order to truly know happiness.”


I do believe that Tarryn Fisher is an amazing writer, and I have to read her other books, but I am not really a fan of this one.

Leave a Reply

