The Last Thing I Write About You

He said I was the girl of his dreams
I laughed cause he was delusional
I told him not to bother
Cause nobody dreams of broken things

He said I was the girl of his dreams
He wanted me to let him in
Slowly tearing down the walls
With sweet words and deceiving smiles

He said I was the girl of his dreams
And I sort of felt it too
For a moment there, I thought I was special
That I was worth something

He said I was the girl of his dreams
But I wasn’t what I really seemed
Cause beneath the surface was a darkness
Full of broken, ugly things

He said I was the girl of his dreams
And I actually believed him
Relishing every moment
Swallowing every lie
Not knowing they’d suffocate me

He choked me with his words
Laughed at how foolish I have been
He said dreams are silly and take you nowhere
And left me without a care.

He said I was the girl of his dreams
And he decided to wake up

Leave a Reply

