Book Review: Wallbanger by Alice Clayton

Wallbanger by Alice Clayton
Published November 27th 2012 by Omnific Publishing
Genre:
New Adult, Contemporary Romance

Goodreads Summary:
The first night after Caroline moves into her fantastic new San Francisco apartment, she realizes she’s gaining an intimate knowledge of her new neighbor’s nocturnal adventures. Thanks to paper-thin walls and the guy’s athletic prowess, she can hear not just his bed banging against the wall but the ecstatic response of what seems (as loud night after loud night goes by) like an endless parade of women. And since Caroline is currently on a self-imposed dating hiatus, and her neighbor is clearly lethally attractive to women, she finds her fantasies keep her awake even longer than the noise. So when the wallbanging threatens to literally bounce her out of bed, Caroline, clad in sexual frustration and a pink baby-doll nightie, confronts Simon Parker, her heard-but-never-seen neighbor. The tension between them is as thick as the walls are thin, and the results just as mixed. Suddenly, Caroline is finding she may have discovered a whole new definition of neighborly…

In a delicious mix of silly and steamy, Alice Clayton dishes out a hot and hilarious tale of exasperation at first sight…

My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

 

 

My Review:

My friends have been getting me to read this for a long time and I resisted so many times. I mean, Wallbanger. What would you expect from a book with that title? From what they were telling me, there was this girl, and her neighbour was a “wallbanger”, and she had a cat. So when I finally picked it up, boy was I in for one hell of a ride.

 

I absolutely loved the book. It turns out this was just the cure I needed for my book slump. The story was fun, the characters were really cool (especially the cat, trust me on this) and it made me laugh out loud with lines like these

“The girl next door was meowing. What in the world was my neighbor packing to make that happen?”

“Well, I drank enough to sustain a small Spanish village, I haven’t had an orgasm in a thousand years, and I will probably die old and alone in a beautifully designed apartment with all of Clive’s illegitimate children swarming around me…How do you think I feel?”

I love Caroline. She’s funny, she talks to her body parts, has a cute cat, and her train of thought is hilarious. She’s also confident, ambitious and is a successful career woman.

Simon on the other hand, he’s a sexy smart ass who has a weakness for baked goods. I love how he banters with Caroline. Their chemistry is so good it kept me wanting for more of their conversations.

The romance is takes it sweet time building up, which is one of the things I really liked. There was no insta-love, there was no rush. It was slow and sweet and totally worth it in the end.

I totally recommend this if you need a fun, light read. 🙂

 

Fun Fact: So I just found out that this was originally a fanfic of Twilight called Edward Wallbanger. Well, I couldn’t imagine the characters as twilight characters because the personalities were so different. Nevertheless. both books series are amazing in their own right and I love them both.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. This was an awesome read! I totally agree with you and pretty hilarious as well. Glad you enjoyed it. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Thank you! I’ll read the second book soon too 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I haven’t read book 2 yet but I so want to!

        Like

Leave a Reply

