Book Review and Reread: Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Published September 29th 2015 by Henry Holt and Company

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy


Goodreads Summary:
Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

My Rating:🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟


My Review:
So I did a reread of Six of Crows in preparation for Crooked Kingdom cause I am really terrible at remembering things. This was a struggle when I was reading Empire of Storms, and even Winter.

I am a sucker for heist stories like the movie Ocean’s Eleven, and Ally Carter’s Heist Society, so it was no surprise that I loved this book too. I loved how the members of the crew were really different from each other, and their chemistry as a group was really good. One thing I really love about stories like these though, is the scheming. All these planning and test runs, the roles they act out, the movements that had to be made at the exact time or else everything will fail.

This book takes place in the Grishaverse as well, but happens after Ruin and Rising. It’s really interesting to see different places other than Ravka. The story takes place in Ketterdam, Kerch’s gambling district.

The characters are so bad ass! This is one of those books with mutliple POVs that actually pulled it off really well. The chapter breaks and POV switches were so smooth, charcters didn’t tend to blend into each other, and each voice was really distinct.

We have Kaz, the young leader with a dark backstory (it was revealed in the book and it actually broke my heart).
Inej is the silent and stealthy, which made her be known as the wraith, the best spy in all of Ketterdam.
Jesper is a sharpshooter with a gambling problem.
Matthias is a Fjerdan drüskelle who hunts Grisha.
Nina is a sassy Grisha Heartrender abducted by Fjerdans (see Matthias).
Wylan is Van Eck’s son, who is illiterate yet very smart.

What was also interesting for me was how the characters from the previous series were mentioned. There were hints of a certain king, a certain squaller, and, well, you’ll have to find out the rest.

This book is action-packed, fast paced, and will have you breezing through the pages wanting to know what happens next. Go grab yourself a copy of this. And then go grab a copy of the sequel Crooked Kingdom too! This book definitely lives up to the hype, trust me!



One Comment Add yours

  1. empressdj says:

    OMG – I would never be able to spit their names out the same way twice


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s