Book Review: Identical by Ellen Hopkins

Identical by Ellen Hopkins

Published August 26th 2008 by Margaret K. McElderry Books

Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Goodreads Summary:
Do twins begin in the womb?
Or in a better place?

Kaeleigh and Raeanne are identical down to the dimple. As daughters of a district-court judge father and a politician mother, they are an all-American family — on the surface. Behind the facade each sister has her own dark secret, and that’s where their differences begin.

For Kaeleigh, she’s the misplaced focus of Daddy’s love, intended for a mother whose presence on the campaign trail means absence at home. All that Raeanne sees is Daddy playing a game of favorites — and she is losing. If she has to lose, she will do it on her own terms, so she chooses drugs, alcohol, and sex.

Secrets like the ones the twins are harboring are not meant to be kept — from each other or anyone else. Pretty soon it’s obvious that neither sister can handle it alone, and one sister must step up to save the other, but the question is — who?

My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟

My Review:
Okay, wow so where do I even start. ThisΒ was the first Ellen Hopkins book I’ve read, and well did it turn out to be a blast. It was disturbing and confusing and all kinds of screwed up. and I really really liked it.

So the story tells us about these twins, Kaeleigh and Raeanne. On the outside we see them as a typical all-American family. A judge father, a politician mother, and two wholesome 16-year-old twins. But what’s really happening is darker than it seems. We have one twin being molested by their father, and we have the other twin being jealous of all the attention the other is getting so she engages in riskier activities. Their mother is focused too much on her job to actually pay attention to what’s going on, and their father drinks too much, then puts all of this screwed up attention to his daughter.

Honestly, all of this just reminds me of the song Dollhouse by Melanie Martinez:

No one ever listens, this wallpaper glistens
Don’t let them see what goes down in the kitchen.

Places, places, get in your places
Throw on your dress and put on your doll faces.
Everyone thinks that we’re perfect
Please don’t let them look through the curtains.

Picture, picture, smile for the picture
Pose with your brother, won’t you be a good sister?
Everyone thinks that we’re perfect
Please don’t let them look through the curtains.

D-O-L-L-H-O-U-S-E
I see things that nobody else sees.

The book Β is written entirelyΒ in verse, which is pretty much the standard writing style for Ellen Hopkins. If you read it from a physical copy, the way the words are literally written on the page is pretty amazing, since sometimes patterns tend to pop up.

Overall, the story was really compelling, and the writing style was interesting.Β And the plot twist in this one was really crazy, that I had the urge to reread it right away like what I did with We Were Liars.

Honestly, once you read this, this will be a book you won’t be able to forget anytime soon.Ellen Hopkins doesn’t shy as well from harsh realities, which is why I love her books. So go check it out if you want, just proceed with caution.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Asma says:

    I actually only read half of this years ago omg I need to finish it

    Like

    1. Asma says:

      But like I’ve read other Hopkins and SO GOOD

      Liked by 1 person

      1. literaryhues says:

        DUDE YES THIS IS SO GOOD. THIS IS MY FAVE.

        Like

  2. I LOVE Ellen Hopkins. She’s one of those authors who every time she releases a new book, I want to read it ASAP. I love that she writes in verse too. I borrowed Identical from my library years ago when I first discovered her books. And a few days ago I went to thrift store and saw this there for $2 so guess what I bought haha Anyway, I’m really glad you liked Identical and I hope you like Hopkins’ other books if you decide to read more!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Omg that is awesome! I’ve got some of her books from bargain stores too. 😊 I’ve read a few more of her books as well (just haven’t posted a review yet lol) like Tilt, Impulse, Tricks and Traffick. They were all so good!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’ve yet to read one of her books and be disappointed haha

        Like

Leave a Reply

