Book Review: It Ends With Us By Colleen Hoover

It Ends With Us by Colleen Hoover

Published August 2nd 2016 by Atria Books

Genre: New Adult Romance

 

Goodreads Summary:
SOMETIMES THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU IS THE ONE WHO HURTS YOU THE MOST

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

With this bold and deeply personal novel, Colleen Hoover delivers a heart-wrenching story that breaks exciting new ground for her as a writer. It Ends With Us is an unforgettable tale of love that comes at the ultimate price.

This book contains graphic scenes and very sensitive subject matter.

 

My Rating: 🌟🌟🌟🌟
(4.5 stars, really)

 

My Review:

Okay, I’ve read a bunch of Colleen Hoover novels. Whenever she comes out with a new one, I grab a copy right away. I’ve read about all of her novels except for Too Late. And can I just say this is one of her heaviest, darkest books yet.

I liked Lily. She’s bold and brave. I love the way she thinks, I love the choices she made, overall I really admire her. And I love her friendship with Alyssa. It’s the kind I’d describe as friendship goals. They go so well together, and are there for each other through the toughest times.

I liked Ryle, I fell for him how you’d fall for any other love interest from Colleen’s books. I found myself swooning, sighing, and being totally smitten. When the twist finally happened, I found myself trying desperately for the story to go the way I wanted it to, even though it was unrealistic. I didn’t want to believe that he wouldn’t change. And that’s when I realized this was how it must feel if you were in the shoes of a person caught up in an unhealthy relationship.

I’m not gonna reveal much about the plot since it’s best to go in totally blind while reading this book. Having the plot unravel before you layer by layer is one of the most amazing experiences, especially with this book. Story pattern wise, it follows the typical Colleen Hoover tropes, though it differs in a way that pleasantly surprised me.

This is one of her most realistic books too, and I’m glad she wrote this.  I believe this book is another important book that sends a powerful message to everyone. It shows that while things are not exactly black and white all the time, sometimes it’s best to get out of the gray area anyway.

I’d definitely recommend this, but do read it with an open mind. Read it with an open heart, too, though I can’t promise you it’d still be intact after reading this.

Leave a Reply

