Book Review: They All Fall Down by Roxanne St. Claire

They All Fall Down by Roxanne St. Claire

Published October 14th 2014 by Delacorte Press

Genre: Young Adult Thriller

Goodreads Summary:
All because of the list.

Kenzie Summerall can’t imagine how she’s been voted onto a list of the hottest girls in school, but when she lands at number five, her average life becomes dazzling. Doors open to the best parties, new friends surround her, the cutest jock in school is after her.

This is the power of the list. If you’re on it, your life changes.

If you’re on it this year? Your life ends.

The girls on the list have started to die, one by one. Is it a coincidence? A curse? Or is the list in the hands of a killer?

Time is running out for Kenzie, but she’s determined to uncover the deadly secret of the list…before her number’s up

My Rating:🌟🌟🌟

 

My review:

So the cover and the blurb had me really curious. (Edit: I thought the girls in the cover were lying face down in pools of blood. But look closely, zoom in the photo and you’ll see they’re actually red dinner plates. I’m lowkey disappointed tbh.) I loved murder mysteries and thrillers. This book was also said to be Pretty Little Liars meets Final Destination, and since I’m a casual PLL fan I decided to go ahead and read it.

I had a bit high expectations for this because of the comparison to PLL and FD. It didn’t really live up to it, but it wasn’t that bad. The premise was there. I liked it, I enjoyed it even. It was thrilling and did retain an air of mystery to it. What made it meh, I suppose was the protagonist.

I just have to get this out there right now: the fact that Kenzie allowed a guy to call her “fifth” annoyed me so much. She didn’t have much depth either.

So the story is about a “Hottie List” which gets released every year. And of course, it’s a list of the 10 hottest girls in school judged by every guy on campus. Kenzie lands on fifth place, even though she doesn’t care about it. Accidents start happening, and coincidentally, girls whose names on the list start dying one by one, leading people to believe that the list is a curse.

It was compelling at first, but the suspense kind of died down. The plot twist was kind of unexpected, but in a way that was a bit more far-fetched than I liked.

Overall, it’s pretty fast and a light read (yes it has murder but I still classify it as a light read), and it does hint of a sequel so we’ll see if that pushes through.

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I saw this at B&N a few weeks ago, was intrigued, but ultimately passed on buying it because I had a hunch it’d be mediocre. Thanks for the review! Glad I made the right choice. (:

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      You’re welcome! Haha. If possible I check goodreads ratings while at the bookstore before buying something lol

      Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG, I love the cover. It looks wacky and fun! I also thought they were lying face down in their pool of blood – I think it was meant to give that impression, haha. Sorry to hear that the story didn’t really blow you away. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

