Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Scary Books on my TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Scary Books on my TBR.

I’m not a huge fan of horror movies since I am a scaredy cat and usually get paranoid that the ghosts and demons and monsters will come out to get me, but I am a sucker for horror books. I first started when I was in fourth or fifth grade, and a local publisher here would release a book called True Philippine Ghost Stories. And I’d be so immersed in those I’d even read them in class. lol. They’re much more interesting and more importantly, DO NOT HAVE ANY JUMP SCARES. The words do the trick, the imagination runs wild, and I start to get goosebumps.

 

So here’s a list of horror books I’d like to read sooner or later:

 

 

Mary: The Summoning by Hillary Monahan

Bloody Mary was one of my favourite ghost stories ever, and this seems like an interesting take on it. And once is not enough to this group of friends. To actually Bloody Mary over and over? Bruh.

Another by Yukito Ayatsuji

There are a number of Japanese books throughout this list, just because they write so good horror stories! Deaths? Curses? Vengeful spirits? School settings? Yes to all of those, please!

Ring by Koji Suzuki

The book that inspired the famous movie The Ring. I’ve seen the Japanese version when I was young and I’d really like to know the story from the book’s perspective.
Bonus: Sadako Yamamura.

It by Stephen King

I shamefully admit that I have not yet read any Stephen King novel. But I’m going to remedy that! I think this book is very timely as well (if I decide to read it this year), considering all that clown appearance nonsense happening around.

The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall by Katie Alender

I love horror stories involving hospitals and asylums and even schools. I love love loved American Horror Story Asylum and hope I’d like this one too!

Carrie by Stephen King

A lot of my friends actually liked this book and recommended this to me, so this would be one of the Stephen King novels I’d have to start with. Despite Ansel Elgort being in the movie, I didn’t watch it (lol) but I might after reading this.

Summer, Fireworks, and My Corpse by Otsuichi

Another Japanese horror novel that I’d want to dive in to. I stumbled upon this while looking up Japanese horror on goodreads. I especially think the first story is interesting, a nine-year-old girl telling the story of how she was murdered, and the killer trying to hide her body.

The Girl from the Well by Rin Chupeco
18509623
Girl and well automatically makes me think of Sadako (or Samara if you wanna talk about the American version). Here’s another book with the ghost as the narrator, so this should be pretty interesting. From what I’ve been told, Japanese culture and urban legends are incorporated in the book as well so it should be interesting to see how those tie up the story.

The Haunting of Sunshine Girl by Paige McKenzie
21413855
So this started from youtube, which turned into a horror web series. Interesting. I’ve seen mixed reviews so I wonder how this plays out.

Zoo by Otsuichi
6149338
Topping off the list with another Japanese novel. But this is more of a collection of short stories. Based on what I’m seeing in goodreads so far, this book is pretty good. I just need to find a copy of this somehow.

56 Comments Add yours

  1. ChrissiReads says:

    These books look terrifying! Especially the Bloody Mary one, I used to be so scared of that story!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Me too! I remember some of my friends at school before wanted to do the Bloody Mary thing at the school bathroom and I’m like NOPE I AM OUT OF HERE.

      Like

  2. When it comes to scary you can’t go wrong with Stephen King. I could have done an entire Top 10 of scary Stephen King novels, but the only one on my list right now is Pet Sematary. Great Top 10. Here’s my TTT.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Great! Looking forward to reading more of his books.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. bornandread says:

    Great list – just looking at some of these covers is freaking me out!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      They do look pretty creepy. Especially Girl from the Well and Mary: The Summoning omg.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. bornandread says:

        Mary: The Summoning looks positively terrifying!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I just found out recently that The Ring was a book!! The movie creeped me out so bad… IDK if I can handle the book!! I read Carrie a LOOOONG time ago. It was actually Stephen King’s first published novel, so it’s definitely not as polished as some of his later stuff…. but still worth a try!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      I’ll keep you posted if I decide to chicken out on reading The Ring, lol. I’m borrowing my friend’s copy and probably will start it this weekend. I’m so excited to read Stephen King’s stuff!

      Like

  5. Cait @ Paper Fury says:

    The Girl from the Well is SO SO GOOD I LOVED IT!! It’s one of the very few horrors I’ve read and one of my favourite books. And toootally creepy, but like nothing I’d be kept up at night about.😂 And I’d like to try a Stephan King book someday, just at least to say I have!! HE’S SO FAMOUS AFTER ALL.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Now I’m super excited to read Girl from the Well omg. Yes! I’d like to read at least one to see how good he can scare me 😂

      Like

  6. OMG!!! You’re a Filipino?! hey follow Filipina blogger!!! I haven’t tried reading scary books, should I try it now? HAHAHA I’m new here btw and would love if you can check out my review of A Darker Shade of Magic hehe

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Yes! Haha. And yeah you should omg. Are you easily scared though? Will check it out!

      Like

  7. lry93 says:

    I have Mary: The Summoning, The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall and The Girl from the Well all on my TBR too 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Yaaaas! I might add Say Her Name too cause, well, Bloody Mary 😁

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Cate T. says:

    I have all the Japanese books on your list. I agree, “Another” is a very good one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Ohh awesome! Have you read the others?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Cate T. says:

        I have both Ring and Zoo on my immediate TBR. I’ve read more Ryu Murakami though. 🙂

        Like

      2. literaryhues says:

        I’d have to check that out. I’m borrowing Ring from my friend this weekend so I’ll most likely read that afterwards. I’m starting Mary: The Summoning right now even though it’s about 1am over here and probably not a good idea.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Cate T. says:

        Wait, I just noticed Philippine Ghost Stories. I take it you’re Filipino? 🙂

        Another thing about well, “Another”… it has an anime adaptation that is equally scary. I have a copy of the manga and live action but I have yet to touch on them.

        As for Ryu Murakami, his stuff is not for the faint of heart. But if you like shock-thrillers, he’s one of the best ones.

        Like

      4. literaryhues says:

        Yes I am! Haha. I grew up to those ghost stories 😂 I’ve heard about that. I’d have to look up the anime sometime. What’s your favourite Ryu Murakami book? 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Cate T. says:

        Hahaha, me too! My classmates used to pass those books around in high school. 🙂

        Hmm, it has to be “Audition”. It’s also one of my favorite horror movies of all time. It’s very graphic but well-written. So many things happened at less than 200 pages.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. literaryhues says:

        Oh wow that looks so interesting 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Louise says:

    I totally prefer creepy books to horror movies, scary films keep me up all night. I’ve been looking at The Haunting of Sunshine Girl too, I didn’t know about the mixed reviews though.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Same haha. I really can’t do films 😂

      Liked by 1 person

  10. I’m not usually a big horror reader, but I’m trying to read some more of it 🙂 The Girl From The Well and Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall sound really good!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Maybe start with some mild paranormal stuff. Mara Dyer is really nice 😀

      Like

  11. Carrie is a good one. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed it. The Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall looks scary but fun. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall is up next on my TBR, after I finish Coraline. I hope I’ll enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

  12. I haven’t heard of some of these; and I’m really glad a lot of them are Japanese, because I’ve always their culture and myths. More books to add to my TBR!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Japanese culture is really pretty interesting and they are so good at portraying horror. Their movies could keep me up for days!

      Like

  13. Rissi says:

    I am NOT a horror kind of girl; even the trailers (for movies) freak me out. 😉 Because of this, I tend to stay well clear of the genre. That said, I DO enjoy a good mystery and depending on the style, the kind of “scary” reads I featured in my Top Ten Tuesday. 🙂

    Hope you like these when you have the chance to read them – and thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      I love mystery too! I just finished And Then There Were None by Agatha Christie and oh my god it was so good!

      Like

  14. Jamie Wu says:

    I use to read a similar kind of book in class too. It was the True Singapore Ghost Stories series. They were full of urban legends and myths, like I remember one being a guy who was cursed by a witch doctor and turned into a pig with human face. I never owned any of them but the books usually circulated in my class, so almost everyone has read it at some point.
    Carrie is on my TBR too. I’ve not read any Stephen King books, but I’m keeping my eye on a few of them.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      That’s so interesting! I remember browsing a website before when I was young. Haha. SFOGS? Singapore’s First Online Ghost Stories. It was pretty cool 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Jamie Wu says:

        Google says it’s Freakiest. I’ve not really explored that site before though. Gonna check it out 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. literaryhues says:

        I’m not sure it’s still running though? Haha

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Jamie Wu says:

        I think it still is, if this is the one: http://www.hungzai.com/

        Like

  15. I didn’t even know that The Ring movie was inspired by a book! Need to check it out now 😀
    I also want to read Carrie as I only watched the movie so far. And it’s King, I love Stephen King!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      What else of King’s books have you read? 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The Dark Tower Series & The Wind through the Keyhole, The Stand, Firestarter, The Green Mile, The Shining, Doctor Sleep, half of IT (I couldn’t finish it, it dragged on too much for me) and am currently reading Cell. Soo much still to look forward to 🙂

        I also watched the Mini series based on his novel 11/22/63 and liked it.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. literaryhues says:

        Whoa those are a lot. What has been your favourite so far?

        Liked by 1 person

      3. That’s so hard! I love the Dark Tower Series so much, but The Stand and the Shining also impressed me a lot 🙂 All of them were definitely worth reading though 🙂
        Did you read any King novels?

        Like

      4. literaryhues says:

        I haven’t yet! Carrie would be my first one 😊

        Like

  16. Alison's Wonderland Recipes says:

    A lot of these sound really unique! I haven’t read any Japanese horror, but I’ll have to give it a try some time. A lot of those sound really good!

    My TTT: http://wonderlandrecipes.com/2016/10/25/ttt-top-10-favorite-literary-halloween-costumes/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      I’m glad you’ll give them a try. I’d love to hear your thoughts on them when you do read them!

      Like

  17. kay says:

    I’m currently reading Dead Girls of Hysteria Hall and I’m not too far into it, but it’s been quite fun. And I can only recommend The Girl from the Well! I really enjoyed that one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Yay! I’m excited to read it. I’ll be starting it right after my current read which is Coraline 😊💕

      Liked by 1 person

  18. Lisa says:

    IT is still one of the scariest books I’ve ever read. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Thank you! Looking forward to reading it@

      Like

  19. cali says:

    Bloody Mary was one of my favourite ghost stories as well, although I don’t think I’ve actually ever read a book based on it. Say Her Name by Juno Dawson is on my TBR, but I didn’t know about Hillary Monahan’s series. I’m with you on the multiple summoning thing.

    And, oh, even just the descriptions of Otsuichi’s stories are disturbing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      I need to grab a copy of Say Her Name! I’ve finished Mary:The Summoning the other day and wow they really were stupid 😂

      Like

  20. Valerie says:

    Oh I didn’t know The Haunting of Sunshine Girl started from Youtube! That’s really interesting. Though I also haven’t seen many great reviews of it. Also, I have yet to read anything by Stephen King. Which is fine, seeing as a lot of it is horror. I do have one book by him that has been gathering dust. It’s almost 800 pages and very intimidating!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Haha yeah I have one Stephen King book here gathering dust. Same with Anne Rice and Chuch Palahniuk 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

