Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books To Read If Your Book Club Likes Fairytale Retellings

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is Top Ten Books To Read If Your Book Club Likes Fairytale Retellings.

Retellings are awesome and I love how each book has their own spin to it, and still is able to follow the fairytale trope. It’s one of my favourite genres and here are my top ten picks:

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
Retelling:
Cinderella, Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel, Snow White
11235712
Okay I’m gonna throw this out there right away. I’m such a huge fan of this series and will continue to rave about this until the day I die. It’s a scifi fairytale retelling merging the stories of various fairytales into one epic series. Just take my word on this if you haven’t read it. It’s absolutely amazing. Plus, the series is complete so you won’t have to wait to continue the story!

Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West by Gregory Maguire
Retelling: The Wizard of Oz
37442
This has such a unique spin on the original story. It tells the life story of a girl named Elphaba, and how she came to be the Wicked Witch of the West. It also has a musical and is one of my favourites of all time. Go check this out!

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
Retelling:
Beauty and the Beast, Hades and Persephone
16096824
SJM is an amazing author and this is such a great series.It involves a lot of badass female characters (which I very much approve), hot fae men (hey if you’re not fae then you’re not bae) and overall l an amazing story. The first two books are out now and the next book is coming out May 2017.

The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury
Retelling: Aladdin

Aladdin has been one of my favourite Disney movies as a child as well. (I mean, who wouldn’t wanna go on a magic carpet ride? My fear of heights is beside the point.) I haven’t read this yet but heard so many good things about it so that’s definitely up the higher part of my TBR.

Twisted Tales Series by Liz Braswell
Retelling: Aladdin, Sleeping Beauty, Beauty and the Beast
24397040
This is a series of retellings I’ve discovered, and it has piqued my interest. Each book is a different Disney fairytale, and the plots are more of a fairytale alternate universe. What if Jafar was the first one to summon the Genie?  What if the sleeping beauty never woke up? What if Belle’s mother cursed the beast?

Vassa in the Night by Sarah Porter
Retelling: Vassilissa the Beautiful
28220892
I’ve been seeing this book around, especially from friends who subscribe to Owlcrate as this was a book included in one of their boxes. I’ve yet to read the story of Vassilissa the Beautiful, but the summary on goodreads looks pretty interesting. Based off what friends have said, the story is a bit odd and overwhelming for some but it turns out to be pretty good.

A Kiss in Time by Alex Flinn
Retelling: Sleeping Beauty
5266667
Alex Flinn actually writes a lot of fairytale retellings, but A Kiss in Time has to be my favourite. A princess is kissed and wakes up 300 years after, in a now modern setting, and she’s got to find a way to come into terms with that. The characters are interesting, and it’s a pretty fun and light read.

Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
Retelling: Cinderella
24337
This is a really good story, and an old favourite of mine. It’s about Ella, a girl who is cursed by not being able to say no to anything she is told. The story is very compelling, and tells the lesson that ultimately it is you who can save yourself. The book has a feminist theme going on, and ha s alot of strong female characters which is awesome.

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh
Retelling: 1001 Nights
18798983
I did not know it was a retelling when I read this though, but this book is simply amazing.  The characters were loveable, and the plot was awesome. It’s more of a romance-y book, but it was slow and sweet and took its time to build up.
For an in depth discussion, you can check out my review here.

Heartless by Marissa Meyer
Retelling: 
Alice in Wonderland
18584855
Okay, fine, technically I haven’t read this yet. And this isn’t even out yet. The publish date is on November 8. But I trust Marissa Meyer on this one. She impressed me so much with her Lunar Chronicles series that I’m already expecting this to be amazing, and the ARC reviews so far agree. So yes, I am adding this into the list.

Bonus Recommendation:
The School for Good and Evil by Soman Chainani
sge-cover
This is more of a compilation of a lot of fairytales, where in two children are plucked out of their town and enrolled into the School for Good and the School for Evil. The School for Good trains students to be fairytale heroes and heroines, while the School for Evil trains students to become fairytale villains. What’s also interesting is that some of the students in the schools are descendants of the famous fairytale heroes, princesses and villains. ome fairytale characters also make an appearance in the next books.
You can check out my full review of the first book here.

 

41 Comments Add yours

  1. We did WICKED in one of my book clubs and it was a bit too weird and racy for some of the ladies in my group. Ha!
    My TTT Book Club Choices

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Haha! How did you find the book though?

      Like

  2. Greg Hill says:

    There are so many great choices when it comes to retellings! Heartless I’ve heard great things about, and School of Good and Evil look fun. I’ve enjoyed Jessica Khoury’s books too although I have not read that one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      I have to check out Jessica Khoury’s other books 😊

      Like

  3. Shoto says:

    I love retelling and I’m always looking for new ones so this is a great post. I’m so looking forward to Heartless because Marissa Meyer is such an amazing author and I loved The Lunar Chronicles. Ella Enchanted looks like a fun read. Love your list! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Thank you! I hope Heartless turns out as amazing as The Lunar Chronicles 💕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Shoto says:

        Yes same! I’m sure she won’t disappoint 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  4. ChrissiReads says:

    I love a fairy tale retelling! The Lunar Chronicles were brilliant and are fab choices!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      It is indeed an awesome series

      Like

  5. This is a great list. I absolutley loved Cinder and The wrath & the dawn.
    Here is my list: https://fantasyraiders.wordpress.com/2016/11/01/ttt5/#more-1409

    Liked by 2 people

    1. literaryhues says:

      They are beautiful books. 🙂

      Like

  6. Louise says:

    Great topic and choices. I’m really looking forward to reading Heartless when it’s released too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Yes, I’m sure it won’t disappoint!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Bill says:

    School of Good & Evil sounds really good and so does the Aladdin series. I’ll have to check into those. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Oh you should! I’d love to hear your thoughts on them.

      Like

  8. Lori says:

    I love retellings! The Wrath and the Dawn is one of my favorites. I got Vassa in a subscription box last month. It sounds so good!

    My Top Ten

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Have you read The Rose and the Dagger though? I’ve yet to read it SMH I keep getting destracted with other books.

      Like

  9. KliScruggs says:

    OMGOSH ELLA ENCHANTED IS MY JAM. I love that book so much. #goals. It’s so amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Great list! I love fairytale retellings and I’ve either read these books or they’re still on my TBR 🙂 So excited about Heartless!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Thank you! Which one is your favourite though?

      Like

      1. I love the ACOTAR series so far (ACOMAF was my favorite release this year) and I also LOVED The Lunar Chronicles!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. literaryhues says:

        Oh same! I’m so excited for the next ACOTAR book oh my god.

        Like

  11. I’m soooo excited to read Heartless!! 🙂

    Lauren @ Always Me

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Me too! I’d love to hear what you think of it afterwards 💕

      Like

  12. @lynnsbooks says:

    I love fairytale retellings and there are definitely a few on here that I want to get to. I like the look of Ella Enchanted.
    Lynn 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      It’s pretty good. I hope you get to read it soon 😊

      Like

  13. Love fairy tale retellings so much! The Wrath and the Dawn and the Lunar Chronicles are both fantastic. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Thank you! I’ve yet to read The Rose and the Dagger 💕

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s amazing, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.

        Liked by 1 person

  14. pagesandtea says:

    I love your list. Whenever something related to retellings comes up on book tags I can never think of anything, so it’s an area I definitely need to read more of.
    I have read Wicked though and really enjoyed it. I also have ACOTAR on my TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      I hope you like ACOTAR! SJM’s amazing. 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Aditi says:

    This is SUCH a LOVELY list! I adore fairytale retellings, and I’ve read most of them. the ACOTAR series is my favourite of all time (RHYS IS LIFE) and I’m so excited to finally get my hands on Heartless.

    Have a great week!

    Like

    1. literaryhues says:

      Thank you! I hope we all love Heartless as much as the Lunar Chronicles. Happy reading! 🙂

      Like

  16. What a great list! I think Ella Enchanted was probably my favorite (because I love the movie), and I love Wicked even if it is a bit twisted!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      I loved the movie too! I love Wicked for that, and also because of the musical. 💕💕

      Like

  17. Rissi says:

    100% love fairytales, so this is the perfect list for me! At some point I am all too aware that I must read “Cinder,” and I’m also curious about ACOTAR. “Heartless” also seems like it’d be a great read too!

    Great list – and thanks so much for visiting Finding Wonderland. PS: love your blog layout/colors! 🙂

    Like

    1. literaryhues says:

      Yaaaay! Yes you should definitely check those out. They’re my absolute favourites.

      Like

  18. Annemieke says:

    I just read The School for Good and Evil. It was really interesting as far as retellings go. I have The Forbidden Wish on my TBR. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  19. gwenkate says:

    Ella Enchanted is simply amazing! It was one of the many books of my middle-grade childhood that became such a re-reading staple (along with all of Gail Carson Levine’s other books and Shannon Hale’s as well — The Goose Girl would be a fantastic addition to this list) it will always have a spot on my shelf!
    Thanks for sharing, Gwen.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Oohh I’d have to check out The Goose Girl then 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

