Goodreads Choice Awards 2016: Opening Round

It’s that time of the year again! The Goodreads Choice Awards is upon us. This is probably the only yearly awards program I care about aside from the Tony’s lol.

So I’ll be sharing what I’ve voted for in the opening round, in some of my favourite categories.

 

Best Romance:

Screen Shot 2016-11-03 at 7.35.25 PM.png
I’m actually surprised that this wasn’t among the choices so I voted for this as a write-in. I’m sorry Colleen Hoover.

 

Nonfiction:

Screen Shot 2016-11-03 at 7.38.34 PM.png
Technically this isn’t a favourite category, and I wasn’t actually gonna vote but then I saw Hamiltome and I just had to.

 

Graphic Novels & Comics

Screen Shot 2016-11-03 at 7.39.43 PM.png
Even though I haven’t read the book I love Sarah Andersen’s art. Sarah’s Scribbles is such a funny page.

 

Poetry

Screen Shot 2016-11-03 at 7.45.00 PM.png
I’m such trash for quarter life poetry when it was on tumblr. It’s also pretty relateable.

 

Best Debut Goodreads Author

Screen Shot 2016-11-03 at 7.46.38 PM.png
This has been on my TBR for a while and I’ve heard so much good things about this from people whose opinion on books I can trust so I voted for it.

 

Young Adult Fiction

Screen Shot 2016-11-03 at 7.48.27 PM.png
This is one of the Sherlock Holmes retellings that I really liked. I’ve read this book back in February and wow, I was blown away

 

Best Young Adult Fantasy & Science Fiction

Screen Shot 2016-11-03 at 7.50.54 PM.png
My god this was the hardest choice ever. I loved almost all the books in this category, but ultimately I chose Crooked Kingdom.

 

 

I hope the next round narrows down my choices a bit, especially for YA Fantasy and Sci Fi, or maybe not since a lot of my friends put write-ins of Gemina and The Midnight Star. We’ll see.

Have you casted your votes? If not head on over to goodreads and do so!
Voting for the preliminary round ends on 6th November.

Leave a Reply

