Book Review: My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

My Lady Jane by Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows

Published June 7th 2016 by HarperTeen

Genre: Young Adult Historical Fiction

Goodreads Summary:
The comical, fantastical, romantical, (not) entirely true story of Lady Jane Grey. In My Lady Jane, coauthors Cynthia Hand, Brodi Ashton, and Jodi Meadows have created a one-of-a-kind fantasy in the tradition of The Princess Bride, featuring a reluctant king, an even more reluctant queen, a noble steed, and only a passing resemblance to actual historyโ€”because sometimes history needs a little help.
At sixteen, Lady Jane Grey is about to be married off to a stranger and caught up in a conspiracy to rob her cousin, King Edward, of his throne. But those trifling problems arenโ€™t for Jane to worry about. Jane is about to become the Queen of England..

My Rating:๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

My Review:

Wow, what can I say, this book is a really refreshing read. My Lady Jane was recommended to me by a friend after I finished reading The Midnight Star. I said I needed a light read to help me recover from the emotional trauma caused by Marie Lu, and it somehow relieved the pain.

The story is mostly a longer, and more elaborate version of Lady Jane Grey who ruled for nie days before she was thrown into jail and beheaded. This book has a magical infusion to history, where in Eโˆ‚ians existed. Eโˆ‚ians have the ability to switch between a human and animal form, like an animagus in Harry Potter. Some see this as a gift, but others see them as abominations that need to stop existing. Those people are called Verities. They believe that humans should only remain humans, and animals should remain animals.

Jane is anย young woman who loves to read. She is intelligent and refuses to back down in a dominantly patriarchal society. She’s stubborn and always carries a book – or two with her wherever she goes.

Gifford, who prefers to be called G, is a horse by day and a man by night. He cannot control the shift, and believes he’s under some sort of curse. He has developed a reputation for being a ladies man, going off to “dalliances” at night, though he is more than what he appears to be. Admittedly, I didn’t really like him at first and was suspicious, but eventually he grew on me.

Edward is the king who found out right away that he’s dying from the affliction. He is so ridiculously sassy I love it! I loved reading chapters from his POV. And was I the only one lowkey shipping Edward and Jane?

There are a whole lot of other interesting characters too: Pet, Gracey, even a cameo from Mary Queen of Scots.

This book is an interesting take on history, though at some point this book did give a warning that they tossed history out the window. I loved the infusion of humor and magic into the plot. Its light and entertaining and such a fun read. Go check it out!

Leave a Reply

