Book Review: Mouthful of Forevers by Clementine von Radics

Mouthful of Forevers by Clementine von Radics

Published April 7th 2015 by Andrews McMeel Publishing

Genre: Poetry

 

Goodreads Summary:
Titled after the poem that burned up on Tumblr and has inspired wedding vows, paintings, songs, YouTube videos, and even tattoos among its fans, Mouthful of Forevers brings the first substantial collection of this gifted young poet’s work to the public.

Clementine von Radics writes of love, loss, and the uncertainties and beauties of life with a ravishing poetic voice and piercing bravura that speak directly not only to the sensibility of her generation, but to anyone who has ever been young.

My Rating:🌟🌟🌟🌟

 

My review:

The author draws from her personal experiences, and the poems takes us through the feeling of loving, healing, pain, weakness, uncertainty, self love and empowerment. I’ve reread this a lot of times this year, and they’re honestly so amazing. More than once I found myself relating to the poems, and even tearing up as I recall my own experiences.

My favourite poem among all would be Advice to Teenage Girls with Wild Ambitions and Trembling Hearts (See it being performed here).
It was so empowering for me, and I loved it so much I wanted everyone I knew to read the poem. I love how she cited a diverse group of girls who were truly inspirational and strong such as Malala, Cleopatra and Sacajawea.

There will always being those
who say you are too young and delicate
to make anything happen for yourself.
They don’t see the part of you that smolders.
Don’t let their doubting drown out the sound
of your own heartbeat.

 The poetry is just simply amazing, and I love it. I love how raw and full of emotion her poems are. This is definitely something I’d recommend, and I need to grab a copy of her other books.

 

 

Leave a Reply

