Book Review: Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

Published July 16th 2013 by Simon Pulse

Genre: Young Adult Thriller

Goodreads Summary:
It’s Spring Break of senior year. Anna, her boyfriend Tate, her best friend Elise, and a few other close friends are off to a debaucherous trip to Aruba that promises to be the time of their lives. But when Elise is found brutally murdered, Anna finds herself trapped in a country not her own, fighting against vile and contemptuous accusations.

As Anna sets out to find her friend’s killer; she discovers hard truths about her friendships, the slippery nature of truth, and the ache of young love.

As she awaits the judge’s decree, it becomes clear that everyone around her thinks she is not just guilty, but dangerous. When the truth comes out, it is more shocking than one could ever imagine…

My Rating:🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

 

My Review:

Yes, I am the weird person who was reading books about murder on Christmas eve. But in my defense, this book was so good I could not put it down!

Where do I start?  I did not expect to like it this much. Set in Aruba,what was supposed to be a fun spring break getaway took a turn for the worse. We follow the murder trial of Elise, who was brutally stabbed in her room at the house they stayed in, and the prime suspect is her best friend, Anna.

We’re presented with a whole lot of other characters, too.
We have Tate, Anna’s boyfriend who is destined for an Ivy League school.
There’s Mel, once Elise’s close friend but now the “third wheel” in the Elise-Ana duo.
There’s even Dekker, the lawyer hell bent on putting Anna behind bars.
With all this, my suspects kept on switching from person to person, but I finally settled on Tate.

I love how it started in the format of a 911 emergency call, on the night they found out about Elise being dead. The story shifts between past and present, giving us a backstory of their friendship, as well was the events leading up to the murder. I liked this aspect because it showed the dynamics, between the characters, especially how they all fit together as a group of friends.

This book was fast paced, gripping and a total page turner, keeping me on the edge until the very end. I felt so many emotions while reading this. And when the big revelation presented itself, I was just so mindblown. I did not expect that twist, holy crap.

Go and check this book out. I highly recommend it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

