Top Ten Tuesday: Books I Wish Had Less Girl-On-Girl-Hate In Them

Welcome to my first TTT of the year! Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is  Books I Wish Had Less Girl-On-Girl-Hate In Them. Initially, I wanted this to be a Books I Wish Had Less Romance but I figured it’ll just be me ranting and roasting books for the abundance of romance and oh-so-sickening instalove.

So back to girl on girl hate. I’ve seen that this is a common thing in YA books, and I’m getting tired of this. Girls being bitchy towards each other because of a boy, or that whole “I’m not that kind of girl”/”I’m not like other girls” idea. While I am saying this, it doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy the books. They are pretty good and I like them, I just think that the intense girl hate was unnecessary.

Okay so enough of me explaining myself, let’s go on with the list:

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

One thing in YA literature that’s as common as instalove is girl-on-girl instahate. A perfect example is Evangeline Samos towards Mare, and Mare returns the sentiment. I mean:

“Her gaze lands on Cal—I mean the prince—trying to entice him with her doe eyes or the occasional flip of honey-blond hair. In short, she looks foolish.”

“Get in my way and I’ll kill you slowly, little lightning girl,” she mutters through her smile.”

Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake
71arczy4url

I just want an epic queen battle with more amazing bad ass powers, and less relationship drama. If you’ve read this first book, you know that it’ll  go in that directionwhat with a certain incident in the beach, and the hatred is just gonna intensify.

The Selection by Kiera Cass

America and Celeste, oh my god. America as a character was already frustrating enough for me, but adding in Celeste and their intense hatred for each other had me rolling my eyes every now and then. Though Celeste sort of “redeemed herself” in The One, I still don’t like how it all played out.

With Malice by Eileen Cook
26153925

It’s a good enough murder story, and I would be pretty impressed by it had I not read Dangerous Girls before it. I won’t go into detail about this one as it is a spoiler.

Gossip Girl by Cecily von Ziegesar

This was probably my guilty pleasure way back when I was in college, along with the Pretty Little Liars books. Looking back on it now though, there just seemed to be a lot of girl hate, especially with Blair and Serena. It seems like they had the type of friendship that was great for them at first, but they outgrew each other but kept each other close even if they secretly hated each other.

Stalking Jack the Ripper by Kerri Maniscalco

Okay, wait, let me explain myself. First of all I loved this book, and the feminist theme was awesome. I loved how strong and bad ass Audrey Rose was as a character, especially in that kind of setting. With that being said, what threw me off was her whole “I’m not like other girls” inner monologue that the other girls only cared about dresses and appearances and all that.

I initially wanted to add a whole lot of other books to this list: like Pretty Little Liars and Tiny Pretty Things. But thinking about it, that was what actually fueled the story, and gave it more drama. And this is good, as long as it’s within context. The Grisha Series with Zoya and Alina, as well as the Throne of Glass series with Celaena and Kaltain, or Celaena and Lysandra also had this, but I am so glad it’s been resolved. Zoya and Alina at the very least were civil to each other in the end, and Lysandra became a permanent part of the squad.

So yeah, that’s it for now! What do you have to say about this? Let me know down below!

22 Comments Add yours

  1. ChrissiReads says:

    I’m not a big fan of girl-on-girl hate! It’s okay in some books, but some get a little ridiculous. Great idea!

    Like

    1. literaryhues says:

      Yes, some are ridiculous and just really unnecessary haha

      Like

  2. Rissi says:

    Fun topic! I wish I had specialized my list more like this (with a specific topic or maybe picked one book to say “ten things I liked about…”), but alas I didn’t. Of course, I always think of all the ideas at the eleventh hour. 😉

    I agree there is “too much” girl drama in “The Selection.” I mean, I love the series, but it has its flaws. As everything does.

    Like

    1. literaryhues says:

      Thank you! Yeah, The Selection was good, but I wish there was also more of girl friendships there. I mean yeah there was Marlee, but even way before The Selection, I think it would have been a nice touch for America to have a friend that’s a girl while growing up.

      Like

  3. Yes, I so completely agree! There is too much girl-on-girl-hate in a lot of books and you have some great examples. I can still enjoy those books, but the girl-on-girl-hate always irritates me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Thank you!
      Yes, some stories do need these to fuel character motives, and to further develop the plot, but girl on girl hate is annoying when it really has no relevance to the story.

      Like

  4. Greg Hill says:

    I just read three Dark Crowns so I totally get that. Yes the relationship stuff (what are the odds that Mirabella would be in the vicinity JUST when Joseph happens to shipwreck lol?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      I know! Like, what a convenient coincidence. Lol

      Like

  5. Talk about hate at first sight. Lol
    And I strongly agree with Three Dark Crowns. The hate was really unecessary. It didn’t even bring that much heat on the story. It was just messy.

    Like

    1. literaryhues says:

      I know 😂 I’m just expecting a messy bitchfest in the second book.

      Like

  6. Louise says:

    Wonderful list! To be honest I wish all books had less girl on girl hate. Why can’t we all support each other? I completely agree about 3 Dark Crowns – the incident on the beach was so unnecessary.
    My TTT for this week.

    Like

    1. literaryhues says:

      I agree! Let’s just be prepared for the mess that’s to come in the books to come after Three Dark Crowns

      Liked by 1 person

  7. KliScruggs says:

    This is such a great list! I LOVE your list idea. I definitely agree with Zoya and Alina, and it’s SO sexist that she’s hates Zoya for sleeping with Mal but then when Mal confesses his love she’s like *swoon* Me: *gag*. I feel like with Three Dark Crowns the beach scene was definitely unnecessary, especially because it didn’t even involve Arsinoe’s love interest. But I LOVED the ending.

    Like

    1. literaryhues says:

      Yeah, also Zoya hating on Alina cause The Darkling likes her and I’m like UM HAVEN’T WE HAD ENOUGH OF THIS TROPE. The ending for Three Dark Crowns is promising! I just hope we get more action and less drama 😂

      Like

      1. KliScruggs says:

        YES. Female-female hate is unbecoming on anyone.
        I was trunked out of my mind when I read the last page OMGOSH. Someone save me, and please ask Kendra Blake to finish sooner plz and thx.
        It was really drama filled, but for some reason that didn’t bother me? Although the beach part DID.

        Like

  8. Lori says:

    I like this topic! I hate girl on girl hate or the mean girl trope. The only one I’ve read is The Selection and I definitely agree with you on that one.
    My Top Ten

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Thank you! I still like Celeste though 😂 Especially in The One 😀

      Like

  9. Say it again for the people in the back! Female friendships are SO important and way better than this awful, petty trope of girl-on-girl hate. I’m still squealing with happiness over how close Aelin and Lysandra are now, and I just want them to be happy forever. I feel like that chick from Mean Girls who’s like “Why can’t we all just get along?” but FOR REAL THOUGH.
    My TTT!

    Like

    1. literaryhues says:

      Thank youuu! And they are so important. Like yeah, bad ass female characters are already there, BUT GIVE THEM EQUALLY BAD ASS FRIENDS THAT’S WOULD BE BOMB AF.

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Ugh the girl on girl hate in Red Queen drove me crazy!
    My TTT: https://jjbookblog.wordpress.com/2017/02/07/top-ten-tuesday-95/

    Liked by 1 person

  11. YES! What we need is more examples of female cooperation and empowerment – girls helping and mentoring and supporting and working with other girls. Women face enough challenges in this world, we don’t need to make our lives any harder than they already hard by hating on each other!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Exactly! We need stories of girls helping each other, lifting each other up. I’ve had enough of catty stories where they just drag each other down.

      Like

Leave a Reply

