Book Review: The Midnight Star by Marie Lu

The Midnight Star by Marie Lu

Published October 11th 2016 by Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

 

Goodreads Summary:
There was once a time when darkness shrouded the world, and the darkness had a queen.

Adelina Amouteru is done suffering. She’s turned her back on those who have betrayed her and achieved the ultimate revenge: victory. Her reign as the White Wolf has been a triumphant one, but with each conquest her cruelty only grows. The darkness within her has begun to spiral out of control, threatening to destroy all she’s gained.

When a new danger appears, Adelina’s forced to revisit old wounds, putting not only herself at risk, but every Elite. In order to preserve her empire, Adelina and her Roses must join the Daggers on a perilous quest—though this uneasy alliance may prove to be the real danger.

My Rating:🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

 

My Review:

This is another review I’ve been putting off for so long, cause I just dont know how to express my thoughts about this without me being all over the place.

True to what we all believed in, Marie Lu ended this series with a bang. Upon finishing this book I was a blubbering mess of tears and feels. I calmed myself down, made myself some tea, and then realized the meaning of the cover, and the title, and I started crying all over again.

In this book, Marie Lu brought up a bigger issue, which affected everyone in their world. I love the transition from it being Adelina-centric in the first two books, then expanding into something more that no one really expected. I won’t say much about it, since it’s gonna spoil the fun for you all, but, damn it was so good.

Our favourite characters were all still endearing (or psycho, if you’re into Teren) as ever. Magiano made me fall in love with him more, and wow Teren is just, wow.

The whole series shows us how Adelina progresses from a lost girl people tried to break, into this bad-ass cruel queen who takes crap from no one. But ultimately, we still go back to what Adelina was, and the root of what she really yearned for in the beginning. Oh god I just love Adelina so much. I just want to give her a big hug.

So there we have it! Go check out this series if you have not yet, I promise you won’t regret it

I’m way too excited for the next books Marie’s gonna come out with. As far as I know, it has something to do with an online game, and a hacker girl with very colorful hair. I’m so stoked!

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Cate T. says:

    I just bought the whole trilogy. I loved “Legend” so I can’t wait to read more of Marie Lu’s work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      I hope you like it omg. Legend is one of my favourites!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

