Top Ten Tuesday: Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is One Sitting, so I’m gonna do Ten Things That Will Make Me Instantly Want To Read A Book. I am so excited to talk about this, so let’s get to it right away!

1. Heists!
six-of-crows-cover

Ever since I watched Ocean’s Eleven I got so hooked to heist stories. I love all the planning, the scheming, the intricacy, and actually being able to pull off a high level robbery. I just need more of these in my life. Hit me up with recommendations if you know any other heist books, please?

2. STRONG FEMALE CHARACTERS

I am living for any book that has amazing strong female characters. Give me more Celaenas and Junes and Adelinas, please?

3. Retellings

Retellings are amazing. I love how different authors have different interpretations, and they were able to put in their own unique spin without really losing the essence of the story.
I love retellings so much I featured it on one of my Top Ten Tuesday posts before. Check that out right here.

4. Diveristy
wrathcoverThe Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie

I just love how we get to explore different cultures through these books. It’s also refreshing to have people of colour as main characters.

5. Romantic Comedies
wallbanger_cover

Who doesn’t love a good light read rom com? I admit I’m a sucker for these! I need light reads that could make me smile and swoon and laugh.

6. Thrillers
cvr9781442486591_9781442486591_hr19161835

I am always down for awesome thrillers with a great plot twist. I love how they are able to deliver the twists that would just blow me away. I take thrillers in moderation though, or else the effect of the twists wouldn’t be as great as I wanted it to be, like what happened when I read Allegedly.

7. Strong Friendships

Sure, romance in YA is great, but you know what’s better? Strong friendships! I’m talking about the Golden Trio, the Six of Crows, the Inner Circle, and the Throne of Glass squad. I especially love it if there are strong female friendships cause we need more of those, and none of that catty girl on girl hate.

8. Unique Writing Style
gemina-by-amie-kaufman-and-jay-kristoff

This isn’t really a common thing, but when I find out that a book has one, you bet your bum I’ll have to grab a copy. It doesn’t even have to be as out there as Illuminae and Gemina. Where Rainbows End was written in the form of letters, texts, emails, and all that. Train Man was written through a text forum.

9. Mythology

I’ve been a huge fan of mythology ever since, and I absolutely love mythology themed books! Bless Rick Riordan for coming out with different series revolving around mythology.

10. Horror
176614024b862c051f08ff0f37e3bd218bc6af75

I can only take horror books in small doses, (and only read them when the sun is out) but I’m starting to love horror books. I did a Halloween readathon last year, and enjoyed Mary: The Summoning and Ring and they were highkey creepy.

So there we have it! What things would make you want to instantly read a book? Do you have any recommendations for me? Let me know down below!

30 Comments Add yours

  1. readingbifrost says:

    I see “Confessions”! That book was a trip! I’m not so much into retellings as I am … I don’t know how you would word it. I like all the teen Sherlockian re-writes.

    Like

    1. literaryhues says:

      Oooh I like that too though I haven’t tried much aside from A Study in Charlotte.

      Like

  2. Anne Bennett says:

    I really like your list. I like the categories you have chosen. They really made me think.

    Like

  3. ChrissiReads says:

    I absolute love thrillers, especially psychological thrillers! Great list!

    Like

    1. literaryhues says:

      Thank you! And yeah, psychological thrillers are the best.

      Like

  4. Poem Fanatic says:

    I loved Ocean’s Eleven, but now that I think of it, I’ve never read any heist books!!!

    Like

    1. literaryhues says:

      Definitely check out Heist Society and Six of Crows then!

      Like

  5. Aahhh, I am totally in live with heists as well, and it all started with Ally Carter’s series.

    I started reading Confessions a while back but I still haven’t finished yet as I’m too creeped out… as for Horror, I’m not a huge fan since I scare easily, but I really loved Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake.

    Like

    1. literaryhues says:

      Oooh Confessions is amazing! I’m reading Kanae Minato’s new book Penance right now 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Retellings, Heists and books told with unique formats! I love them all! I’m in an eternal search for more Beauty and the Beast retellings! And I’m dying for more books like Illuminae and Gemina! At first I wasn’t sure if I would enjoy a book told entire that way, but it was such an incredible experience!

    Like

    1. literaryhues says:

      ooh have you checked out Hunted? And ACOTAR? 🙂

      Like

      1. Yup! Well, I’ve read ACOTAR and eagerly awaiting the next book. I’ve got Hunted but I haven’t read it yet. I think I’m going to read it very soon though!

        Like

  7. Yes to basically all of these, but especially retellings, strong female characters, strong friendships, heists, diversity and romantic comedies 🙂

    Like

    1. literaryhues says:

      Yaaass! Happy reading 🙂

      Like

  8. I LOVE a heist story as well – I’ve read and enjoyed Six of Crows and the Heist Society and am in desperate need of more of them. It’s a genre I find difficult to find in books which is a shame.
    My Top Ten Tuesday.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Exactly! I’ve heard of the Gentleman Bastard series which is supposed to be heist themed to. It’s worth checking it out 🙂

      Like

  9. GracieKat says:

    I loved your comment on strong women friendships. There’s not hardly enough of them in books. At least, actual friendships, not frenemies. We like horror (a lot) as well. If you’d like to check out our list it’s here: http://www.scifiandscary.com/in-the-mood-to-read/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Thank you! I especially am drawn to Japanese horror lately. It’s so scary but so good. Thanks for stopping by! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. GracieKat says:

        I am too, I like their minimal use of CGI and reliance on the actors to sell the scene, not the effects. The Whispering Corridors trilogy is great!

        Like

      2. literaryhues says:

        The Grudge still manages to give me nightmares until now

        Like

      3. GracieKat says:

        Definitely! I also found The Whispering Corridors trilogy very good, particularly The Wishing Stairs. Also Ju-Rei: The Uncanny is very good, too.

        Liked by 1 person

  10. brandy says:

    Great Choice of books

    Liked by 1 person

  11. supratim1106 says:

    Nice collection of books.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Ravi says:

    not a fiction lover, i usually look for real stories from the history..Letsee horror would do:)

    Like

    1. literaryhues says:

      How about historical fiction? 🙂

      Like

  13. jd Obedoza says:

    My kid loves reading too. She loves Harry Potter so much.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. hellorelyn says:

    Wee~ I love me a good book every now and then. Will definitely check these out 🙂 I also suggest Jhumpa Lahiri’s Interpreter of Maladies. Hope you like it ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Oooh will check that out thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

