Book Review: Jurassic Park

Jurassic Park by Michael Crichton
Published December 1991 by Ballantine Books
Genre:ย Science Fiction, Thriller

Goodreads Summary:
A billionaire has created a technique to clone dinosaurs. From the DNA that his crack team of scientists extract, he is able to grow the dinosaurs in his laboratories and lock them away on an island behind electric fences, creating a sort of theme park. He asks a group of scientists from several different fields to come and view the park, but something goes terribly wrong when a worker on the island turns traitor and shuts down the power.

My Rating:๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ๐ŸŒŸ

My Review:
Growing up, I’ve watched all the Jurassic Park movies, and I was so excited last year when Jurassic World finally came out. This was one of the movies I loved to watch often, cause what could possibly go wrong when you ย have a theme park full of dinosaurs?ย It was just so cool so I finally decided to read the book.

Iย was a bit taken aback to find that the book was so slow paced at the beginning. However, I like how they took the time to explain it and make the readers understand theย scientific to fully explain how they managed to have dinosaurs roam the earth again. It talks much more about mutations and how the dinosaurs managed to breed despite being in an all female environment. Chaos theory is often discussed in the book, which is Ian Malcolm’s way of saying “I told you so”. I liked bookย Ian Malcom more, cause he was more than just a scientist acting up like a rock star (I mean let’s face it in the movie he spent the second half mostly shirtless).

I loved how dinosaurs were portrayed as intelligent creatures. I’m not only talking about the raptors, but even the T-Rex wasย very calculating. Oh, and there are actually two T-Rex in the book, and they could swim! That just made it a lot scarier for me.

It was just so good overall and even if you’ve seen the movie, it won’t do enough justice. There’s so much more going on in the book that you definitely have to check it out.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Omg I had no idea this was a book.. Iโ€™m a little embarrassed to admit that actually ๐Ÿ˜…โ€ฆ sounds great though!! Iโ€™m going to have to check it out!

    Like

    1. literaryhues says:

      No it’s fine omg I went years without realizing it was based from a book ๐Ÿ˜‚ Hope you do check it out! ๐Ÿ’•

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Lol glad I’m not the only one ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

