Book Review: Summer Feels: A #Romanceclass Anthology

 Summer Feels: A #Romanceclass Anthology by Kate Sebastian (Editor)

Published April 30th 2017
Genre: Young Adult Romance

GOODREADS SUMMARY:

Summer loving happens so fast, as you’ll find with Summer Feels, an anthology of 23 stories of love under the summer sun by #romanceclass authors. Savor the candied thrill of firsts—first loves, first kisses, first solo vacations—and the bittersweet triumph of second chances. Tour the Philippines as the stories take you to mountain retreats and island paradises. Let the magic of the hot sun, clear blue skies, and lots of love take you on a roller coaster ride of feels. With stories ranging from sweet to sexy, there’s sure to be something for any fan of romance.

Featuring stories by:
Elea Andrea Almazora • Erleen Alvarez • Ella Banta • Rachelle Belaro • H. Bentham • Halina Cabrera • Charlie Dio • Mina V. Esguerra • Elizabeth Galit • Georgette S. Gonzales • Ami Granada • Irene Jurado • Catherine Lo • Arlene Manocot • Bianca Mori • Eris Peñaluna • Farrah F. Polestico • Kit Salazar • Miel Salva • Fay Sebastian • Kate Sebastian • Yeyet Soriano • Marian Tee

My Rating:🌟🌟🌟

 

MY REVIEW:

Thank you, Kate Sebastian, for sending me an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I think I’m not the only one who had the song Summer Nights stuck in my head while reading this book. Summer Feels is a compilation of romance stories set during the summer, and is a perfect companion while going out and enjoying the season.

What I really liked about this anthology, is that the stories were diverse. Not everything had a happy ending, not everything was all feel good (one actually hurt my heart omg pls), and it just takes you through a roller coaster of emotions.

Not every story was my cup of tea, but that’s cause I’m a bitter scrooge who likes her romance stories a certain way, lol.  If I could name some stories that I really liked? Well there’s All About That Bass cause omg please it was just too cute. Also, NGL Alter Christus made ya girl .WEEP. It’s a favourite cause, well, I’m such a sucker for sad stories. Wedding Night Stand was really good, maybe like a local version Emma Chase’s stories? And lastly, Buttered Sunset. What I really liked about it was the ending. It ended on a realistic, hopeful note and it’s left to the reader’s imagination as to how the rest of the story pans out.

Overall, it was pretty good and I liked it. So go grab a copy of this if you need your dose of romance set in summer days drifting away to, oh, those summer nights. 

 

Bonus Content!

Here we have a playlist for Ella Banta’s The Search for the Kissing Monster. Click on the links to listen to the songs 🙂

 

  1. Mirrors – Justin Timberlake

I don’t wanna lose you now,
I’m looking right at the other half me.

2. Soldier – Marika

Will you be my soldier and put up a fight?
And fight for our right for love
For the rest of our lives?

3. Let Go- Imogen Heap

Let go, so let go
Where have you been?
Oh, well what are you waiting for?
It’s alright, ‘cause there’s beauty in the breakdown.

4. Without You- Usher

I can’t rest, I can’t fight
All I need is you and I

5. I love You – Avril Lavigne

You’re so beautiful but that’s not why I love you
I’m not sure you know, but the reason I love you
Is you, just you.

 

The story, The Search for the Kissing Monster, is about how two people who feel the same for each other make things difficult for one another. One is forgetful when drunk and one is confused how to deal with this dilemma. The songs fit them perfectly because they show how the two long for each other and how they discover to express their love for each other. I hope you can listen to the songs. Maybe you can be in the moment where Vincent and Tommy fall in love.” – Author Ella Banta on her playlist

 

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. I think this book will be perfect to soothe my bitterness.

    Like

    1. literaryhues says:

      haha yaaass go give it a try!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Catherine Lo says:

    Yikes! I’m so sorry for the heartache from Alter Christus 😛 But yaaay thank you so much for loving our book and supporting us all throughout! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      Omg thank you as well ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

