Book Review: Lord of Shadows by Cassandra Clare

Lord of Shadows (The Dark Artifices #2) by Cassandra Clare

Published May 2nd 2017 by Bloomsbury Childrens Books
Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Goodreads Summary:

Would you trade your soul mate for your soul?

A Shadowhunter’s life is bound by duty. Constrained by honor. The word of a Shadowhunter is a solemn pledge, and no vow is more sacred than the vow that binds parabatai, warrior partners—sworn to fight together, die together, but never to fall in love.

Emma Carstairs has learned that the love she shares with her parabatai, Julian Blackthorn, isn’t just forbidden—it could destroy them both. She knows she should run from Julian. But how can she when the Blackthorns are threatened by enemies on all sides?

Their only hope is the Black Volume of the Dead, a spell book of terrible power. Everyone wants it. Only the Blackthorns can find it. Spurred on by a dark bargain with the Seelie Queen, Emma; her best friend, Cristina; and Mark and Julian Blackthorn journey into the Courts of Faerie, where glittering revels hide bloody danger and no promise can be trusted. Meanwhile, rising tension between Shadowhunters and Downworlders has produced the Cohort, an extremist group of Shadowhunters dedicated to registering Downworlders and “unsuitable” Nephilim. They’ll do anything in their power to expose Julian’s secrets and take the Los Angeles Institute for their own.

When Downworlders turn against the Clave, a new threat rises in the form of the Lord of Shadows—the Unseelie King, who sends his greatest warriors to slaughter those with Blackthorn blood and seize the Black Volume. As dangers close in, Julian devises a risky scheme that depends on the cooperation of an unpredictable enemy. But success may come with a price he and Emma cannot even imagine, one that will bring with it a reckoning of blood that could have repercussions for everyone and everything they hold dear.

My Rating:🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

My Review:

Alright, sit back kids cause this is gonna be an emotional one. In case y’all didn’t know, I am trash for Cassandra Clare books. I haven’t written full reviews about the past books but here are my feelings in summary:
– The Mortal Instruments: Badass people in black fighting demons! Sign me up!
– The Infernal Devices:  Scones! Five! Lightworms! Buford! Clockwork Princess made me cry like a baby.
– The Bane Chronicles: Made me laugh out loud for the most part. I like the bromance between Ragnor Fell and Rafael Santiago. Also, Malec’s first date gives me LIFE.
– Tales from the Shadowhunter Academy: *ugly sobbing*
– Lady Midnight: More sobbing with TID references. I finally have the Blackthorns memorized. Jemma! I loved how it was related to a poem, too.

Disclaimer: This review contains possible spoilers for all the books stated above.

And now for the review. I’ll try to make this as coherent is possible cause I just finished the book a few hours ago and I’m a sobbing mess. I was emotionally unprepared and this book HURT ME SO MUCH. What the hell, Cassie?

The book starts off with Kit struggling to cope with his father’s death, and the truth that he is an actual Shadowhunter now, and a Herondale at that. And him meeting Jace for the first time got me so emotional cause you know I love my Herondales. On the other side of angsty things, we have Emma still pretending to be with Mark, so that Julian would hopefully back off and try to move on.

Why lie? he’d asked.
She’d thought for a moment he’d been asking her, Why do you want to tell this lie? But he hadn’t been. He’d been asking, Why lie when we can make it the truth, this thing between us?

The book has a lot more going on, with all these twists and turns. It’s ridiculously long but I was just so happy I got my Cassandra Clare fix. The characters face the aftermath of Malcom Fade’s doing, along with a whole lot more crap.

The book follows the theme of Edgar Allan Poe poems with Annabel Lee for Lady Midnight, the poem for Lord of Shadows was Dreamland. I actually freaked out when I saw this line:

There the traveller meets, aghast,   
Sheeted Memories of the Past—   
Shrouded forms that start and sigh   
As they pass the wanderer by—   
White-robed forms of friends long given,   
In agony, to the Earth—and Heaven.

 

We also have this lovely tweet to think about.

CC.png

Even with this warning, I still wasn’t prepared for them. Two of them actually made me cry so much? Those deaths BROKE ME and it broke some of our beloved characters too and my heart is just hurting for all of them oh my god.

There are some new characters to watch out for like Zara Dearborn and the centurions. The Fae are also more involved in the plot this time. I also love how there were also recurring TID characters. Like, Bridget! Remember her? The maid at the London Institute who likes singing morbid songs while doing housework? Diana also was such a great character in this book that I’m loving her even more! She clearly loves the Blackthorns and she’s been through a lot and emerged stronger than ever.

I also like how the book has parallelisms to what is actually happening in real life. The Cohort, which is a group of hateful Shadowhunters fueled by The Cold Peace. They want to start a registry for Downworlders and regulate their rights. They see Downworlders as creatures beneath them and should not be interacting with Nephilim. Hatred towards another race? Wanting to start a registry for them? Sound familiar? Yeah I thought so too.

When a decision like that is made by a government, it emboldens those who are already prejudiced to speak their deepest thoughts of hate. They assume they are simply brave enough to say what everyone really thinks.

Let’s talk about something lighter. Ships! KitTy is actually sailing, don’t even fight me on this. And Mark and Kieran! Based on what I’ve observed, I think there’s a possibility Cassie’s going to throw in a polyamorous relationship in here, and I’m not complaining.

I’ve found a few easter eggs like references to the past I’d like to share so scroll down below if you wanna see those. If not, just take my word then and read Lord of Shadows. If you haven’t hopped in on the Cassandra Clare bandwagon yet, do iiiit omg. I’m also here if anybody needs someone to talk to, cause lord knows it’ll take me a while to move on from this.

Let me just end this review with a quote from Alec Lightwood cause FEELS.

“And I will be a uniquely lucky person, because there will be someone who always remembers me. Who will always love me. Magnus won’t always mourn, but until the end of time he will remember me and love me.”

BONUS CONTENT: EASTER EGGS!
  • Kit checking out the books at the London Institute and the books all have “Will H.” written on them.
  • Photographs in the room Emma stayed in!
    • The girl with red hair holding Cortana – Cordelia Carstairs?
    • Will and Jem
    • The girl who looks like Tessa – Lucie Herondale maybe?
  • Malec’s second child is named after Rafael Santiago
  • One of the Blackthorn houses that once belonged to the Lightwoods. I think this was the one at the start of Clockwork Princess? The whole “my father is a worm” issue.
  • JB + LH is Jesse Blackthorn and Lucie Herondale!
  • Bridget giggling about scones.
Leave a Reply

