Book Review: Romancing the Throne by Nadine Jolie Courtney

Romancing the Throne by Nadine Jolie Courtney

Published May 30th 2017 by Katherine Tegen Books
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

Goodreads Summary:

Scandal, secrets, and heartbreak abound in this juicy, modern girl-meets-prince story—perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Jennifer E. Smith. “Maybe sisters aren’t supposed to fall for the same guy, but who can mess with chemistry? A divine romantic comedy” (Brightly.com).

For the first time ever, the Weston sisters are at the same boarding school. After an administration scandal at Libby’s all-girls school threatens her chances at a top university, she decides to join Charlotte at posh and picturesque Sussex Park. Social-climbing Charlotte considers it her sisterly duty to bring Libby into her circle: Britain’s young elites, glamorous teens who vacation in Hong Kong and the South of France and are just as comfortable at a polo match as they are at a party.

It’s a social circle that just so happens to include handsome seventeen-year-old Prince Edward, heir to Britain’s throne.

If there are any rules of sisterhood, “Don’t fall for the same guy” should be one of them. But sometimes chemistry—even love—grows where you least expect it. In the end, there may be a price to pay for romancing the throne…and more than one path to happily ever after.

My Rating:🌟🌟

Actual rating: 2.5 stars

My Review:

Thank you, HarperCollins and Edelweiss, for sending me an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Okay, before I start, I just wanna say that I knew what I was getting into, and that there were a lot of possibilities for the outcome of the story. The one the author chose, was really disappointing for me.

In terms of writing style, the book was giving off a Gossip Girl vibe what with giving us a glimpse into the life of the rich and famous teenagers. Charlotte was sort of the Jenny Humphrey (book version) in my thoughts. It also involves a lot of discussion of new money vs old money, and some girl on girl hate which is a reading pet peeve of mine.

Charlotte is the fashionista, the sporty, the more social sister. Libby on the other hand is the quiet, nerdy sister. They’ve gone to separate schools their whole lives so when Libby suddenly transfers to Sussex Park after a scandal at her school, Charlotte is determined to make her sister fit in and run the same social circles as her.

My issue with this book and the same as with Something Borrowed (the movie, I haven’t read the book) is that I don’t believe that it just happens. You don’t just happen to start seeing the person your best friend or sister used to date.

Call me salty but, these are unspoken rules. Well, at least for me. And they make sense, cause they’re there to not cause unnecessary angst. And I feel that’s what the majority of the book is. It’s full of Charlotte moping and avoiding her sister and Edward to not cause awkwardness. The situation just got a bit too messy. And I do not care if you’re the prince of England did you not at least had some decency to not date one sister right after dating the other. I mean, you could, but as long as you’ve talked about it with the former and just not have any bad blood going into the new relationship.

It’s not like Edward is swoonworthy either. It feels like the only redeeming quality he ever had in the book was that he was a prince.

I compared this to Gossip Girl but with the GG books, I like how it ended and I wish I could say the same for this book.

I may have all these issues, and I might not be a fan of how the story panned out, but will say this: Libby and Lotte are sister goals. They’re different from each other but are really good together.

Overall this isn’t my cup of tea, but if you want a love triangle involving siblings while seeing the lifestyle of the rich and famous, go ahead and check this book out.

Leave a Reply

