Book Review: Alex and Eliza by Melissa de la Cruz

Alex and Eliza by Melissa de la Cruz
Published April 11th 2017 by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Genre: Young Adult Historical Fiction

Goodreads Summary:
Their romance shaped a nation. The rest was history.

1777. Albany, New York.

As battle cries of the American Revolution echo in the distance, servants flutter about preparing for one of New York society’s biggest events: the Schuylers’ grand ball. Descended from two of the oldest and most distinguished bloodlines in New York, the Schuylers are proud to be one of their fledgling country’s founding families, and even prouder still of their three daughters—Angelica, with her razor-sharp wit; Peggy, with her dazzling looks; and Eliza, whose beauty and charm rival that of both her sisters, though she’d rather be aiding the colonists’ cause than dressing up for some silly ball.

Still, she can barely contain her excitement when she hears of the arrival of one Alexander Hamilton, a mysterious, rakish young colonel and General George Washington’s right-hand man. Though Alex has arrived as the bearer of bad news for the Schuylers, he can’t believe his luck—as an orphan, and a bastard one at that—to be in such esteemed company. And when Alex and Eliza meet that fateful night, so begins an epic love story that would forever change the course of American history.

My Rating:🌟🌟🌟

My Review:

Taking a break from all the ARCs, I decided to read some light romance, and what better book for it than the story of Alexander Hamilton and Elizabeth Schuyler? Of course I wasn’t throwing away my shot to read this. (Of course there will be Hamilton references.

So the story starts in 1777 A Winter’s Ball where Catherine Schuyler throws a ball in the hopes to find a husband for her three eldest daughters. Hamilton arrives to the estate by order of George Washington, to bring Philip Schuyler bad news. He delivers said bad news, not realizing Eliza was listening in, and when he first saw her, Hammy was just helpless.

First of all, I don’t know if it’s just because I’m obsessed with Hamilton the musical, but I hear Leslie Odom Jr. narrating the story in my head.

I LOVE LOVE LOVE how Eliza was portrayed in the book. She was just absolutely amazing. Alex on the other hand, seemed so out of character! Or maybe that’s just how he is around Eliza? I don’t know I just didn’t see the Alexander Hamilton I’ve come to know and love. Some other characters were also out of character. Lafayette, Laurens, even Angelica.

Overall, it was a cute, light romance. But sadly, I wasn’t satisfied. Maybe if I didn’t have any prior knowledge about Hamilton, I would have really liked this book. But nevertheless, go check it out if your heart needs some sweetness and light feels.

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Thanks for your honest words! I think this one sounds so sweet and light and fluffy and cute. I wish you had liked it a bit more, but I understand you had your own knowledge of Hamilton that might have impeded on your enjoyment of it. I might pick this up someday. 🙂

    Cass @ Words on Paper

    Liked by 1 person

    1. literaryhues says:

      I hope you do give it a chance! Thanks for stopping by ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

