Book Review: Godblind by Anna Stephens

Godblind by Anna Stephens

Published June 20th 2017 by Talos
Genre: Adult Dark Fantasy

GOODREADS SUMMARY:

For fans of Joe Abercrombie, Scott Lynch, and Mark Lawrence comes a brutal grimdark fantasy debut of dark gods and violent warriors.

The Mireces worship the bloodthirsty Red Gods. Exiled from Rilpor a thousand years ago, and left to suffer a harsh life in the cold mountains, a new Mireces king now plots an invasion of Rilpor’s thriving cities and fertile earth.

Dom Templeson is a Watcher, a civilian warrior guarding Rilpor’s border. He is also the most powerful seer in generations, plagued with visions and prophecies. His people are devoted followers of the god of light and life, but Dom harbors deep secrets, which threaten to be exposed when Rillirin, an escaped Mireces slave, stumbles broken and bleeding into his village.

Meanwhile, more and more of Rilpor’s most powerful figures are turning to the dark rituals and bloody sacrifices of the Red Gods, including the prince, who plots to wrest the throne from his dying father in the heart of the kingdom. Can Rillirin, with her inside knowledge of the Red Gods and her shocking ties to the Mireces King, help Rilpor win the coming war?

My Rating:🌟🌟🌟🌟

 

MY REVIEW:

Thank you, Talos and Edelweiss, for sending me an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Wow, this book was wild from start to finish, and I loved it! This book falls under the grimdark genre, which basically means this book is violent, brutal, and contains a lot of things that could possibly trigger.  This was my first book of the genre, and there was a particular scene where I actually had to stop reading and take a breath, and prepare myself for what was going to happen next.

Almost a thousand years ago, the Mireces were exiled from Rilpor. But now, under a new rule, they decide that they want Rilpor back, and the best time would be the present since there are rumours of the king being unwell. The Mireces worship the red gods, gods of violence, death and destruction. Rilporians worship The Dancer and her son The Fox God which are gods of light. The book also had a kind of Game of Thrones vibe going on for me, and The Blessed One Lanta reminded me so much of Melisandre and her worshipping The Lord of Light.

Godblind is full of betrayal, deceit, visions, and violence and I really enjoyed it. It was fast paced, intense, and kept me wanting for more. There were also a lot of strong female characters, which is amazing! I loved the characters and their story arcs, and they had really good development throughout the story. The book contains multiple POVs, but they aren’t hard to distinguish from each other so it’s not one of those confusing POV switching books.

I really liked the book overall. If you ever decide to read this though, keep in mind though that this is not for the faint of heart.

 

Advertisements

6 Comments Add yours

  1. judithcmoore says:

    Definitely not for the faint of heart! Great review, I wasn’t a huge fan of this book and there were definitely bits that my mind’s eye will not be able to unsee. But it’s always nice to branch into different sub-genres and things.

    Like

    1. literaryhues says:

      I thought this was YA ffs 😂 I immediately got that thought out of my head upon reading the first chapter

      Liked by 1 person

      1. judithcmoore says:

        Definitely not! Ooh that must have been a bit of a shock

        Like

      2. literaryhues says:

        Yeah, it did for a bit. I can’t get one scene out of my mind though and even though I’m not a man I can feel the pain ugh 🙈

        Liked by 1 person

      3. judithcmoore says:

        I KNOW THE SCENE YOU MEAN AND I’M STILL DISTURBED

        Like

      4. literaryhues says:

        Yeah SAME 😭

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s