Book Review: Little Wrecks by Meredith Miller

Little Wrecks by Meredith Miller

Published June 13th 2017 by HarperTeen
Genre: Young Adult Contemporary

GOODREADS SUMMARY:

In this haunting and explosive debut, Meredith Miller explores the truth behind three girls on the cusp of adulthood, and all the shocking realizations that come under the guise of growing up. Perfect for fans of I’ll Give You the Sun and Girl in Pieces.

Ruth, Magda, and Isabel are different from everyone else. They can see beneath the seemingly perfect, cookie-cutter exterior of their small town of Highbone, Long Island. They know that below the surface, each house is filled with secrets, indifference, and violence.

These girls refuse to become willing participants of these fake lives. Instead, they are determined to fight every condescending comment, every unwelcome touch, and every lie they’ve been told.

When the opportunity to commit the perfect crime appears, the girls finally start to see their way out of Highbone. But for the first time, Ruth, Magda, and Isabel are keeping secrets from each other. As they drift apart, the weight of reality starts to set in. These girls can’t save each other. They might not even be able to save themselves.

“Darkly atmospheric and brutally honest, Little Wrecks depicts girls becoming women in a society that devalues both.”—Mindy McGinnis, author of Female of the Species

My Rating:🌟🌟🌟

 

MY REVIEW:

Thank you, HarperCollins and Edelweiss, for sending me an eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Magda is always calm and composed, the one who always knows what to do. She has to be that ever since her mother left, and her father stopped caring, so she’s left to take care of her younger brother Henry. Isabelle is more out there, more reckless, and is seen to always have her head in the clouds. Ruth is angry. Angry that almost everyone is pretty sure who her father is but no one dares to say it. Angry that her mother is more of a best friend than a mother. And angry that she has to live with her mother’s string of boyfriends. All of them want to leave Highbone.

I’m not really sure how to talk about this cause this book in itself a simple plot, yet it’s so much more than that. This book has a different writing style, almost like a lyrical prose I guess? The writing style was a bit flowery, and it worked at times. But this book also has a tendency to jump scenes without having a clear scene break so I was confused at some parts.

Simply put, the book is about these three girls who go steal a huge amount of weed, and ending up not knowing what to do with it. They can’t sell it, cause everyone will find out it was them and they’ll get into a load of trouble for it.

But aside from that, the book also talks about sexuality, consent, relationships, friendship, and family.

Overall, it was a good book. It didn’t particularly strike anything with me, but I didn’t hate it either. Go ahead and check this book out for yourself if you want, and let me know what you think 🙂

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s